Genesis

Standard

I had hit a breaking point.  I was anxious, overweight, stressed out, and unhappy.  Life was taking its toll on me, physically and emotionally.  I knew things were bad when I started having insomnia, daily gastrointestinal problems, crying spells, and, finally, suicidal thoughts.

Something had to give.  I could no longer run away from my problems, and I didn’t want to rely on pharmaceuticals to mask what was going on inside me.  I wanted a real change, a permanent change and not a quick fix.  I knew I needed to change my lifestyle and my habits.  I decided to start taking better care of myself through diet and exercise, and to explore different ways to relieve stress and anxiety.

I knew it wasn’t going to be easy.  After all, I was known by friends and family as the queen of cupcakes.  I had boldly proclaimed on several occasions that I would rather die with a pint of Ben & Jerry’s in my hand than a package of tofu–yuck, tofu.  My idea of relaxing and unwinding from a stressful day was to sit in front of the TV and the computer for hours at a time.  I couldn’t run a mile if a bear was chasing me–or if I was chasing down the ice cream truck–thanks to years of a sedentary lifestyle and about 45 extra pounds on my body.

But I knew I had to do it, or I was going to wind up like so many people I know who are overworked, pill-popping alcoholics who can’t relax or function in the world.  It was time to make healthier choices–to take a walk instead of watching TV, to meditate instead of overanalyze, to choose a square of dark chocolate instead of a tub of ice cream.

This blog is the story of my journey.  I hope to find other people who are on the same path as me or, maybe, to help others who are just starting out.  Together, we can lament the loss of cupcakes, compare yoga poses, and find healthy recipes that don’t use tofu.  Yuck, tofu.

One response »

  1. Pingback: On A Serious Note « Going Steady

Leave a Reply

