Doldrums

Standard

D*mnit.  It was bound to happen.  I woke up cranky yesterday and made the mistake of getting on the scale.  After a good workout on Monday, I expected to at least maintain my weight, but it went up a bit.  Sigh.  I told myself that the scale means nothing and I’m supposed to focus on my total wellness.  Except I didn’t feel so great.  The rest of the day brought more work and family stress, and last night’s yoga didn’t calm me down like I’d hoped.  Then I made the ultra-stupid mistake of getting on the scale again this morning.  Dear reader, I probably weighed myself six different times, and got six different numbers, none of which pleased me.

So, by the time I made it to my evening walk/jog, I was not feeling the whole-new-lifestyle-isn’t-it-exciting vibe.  I found myself walking through a forest and not even noticing it because my mind was abuzz with worries about work, family, and the d*mn scale.  I finally had to stop, take a breath, look around, and remember that this is a lifestyle, not a quick fix.  I can’t get rid of all sources of anxiety, and I can’t expect to magically change overnight.  At least, that’s what I keep telling myself.

What do you do when you hit a little skid?  What gets you back on track?

2 responses »

  1. I always try to find one thing in my day that did go right, and focus on that! If I still can’t get my day back in order, I make a conscious effort to start the next morning out on a better foot with a good breakfast and some time to reflect 🙂

Leave a Reply

