Cocoa Loco

Standard

I’m a girl who was coo-coo for Cocoa Puffs…or Lindt truffles…or milano cookies…or anything with even a hint of chocolate.  My new healthy lifestyle, however, means no more nights on the sofa cuddling with an entire carton of Ben & Jerry’s New York Super Fudge Chunk.  What’s a girl to do?

I’ve been exploring other ways to get my chocolate fix.  I tried Late July organic dark chocolate sandwich cookies which are an organic version of Oreos.  I wanted to like these cookies.  After all, they’re organic, owned by a mom ‘n pop type operation, and free of artificial flavors, colors, and preservatives.  Unfortunately, they’re very dry and have a chalky taste.  I didn’t even finish the first cookie–just tossed it in the trash.

Then it was on to Kashi’s TLC oatmeal dark chocolate cookies.  I figured one of these bad boys might cure my cookie and chocolate craving in one fell swoop as they’re loaded with whole grains, sunflower seeds, walnuts, coconut, dark chocolate, and other goodies.  Each cookie is pretty small, yet packed with 130 calories a pop.  For the size and calorie content, it had better be a darn good cookie as far as I’m concerned.  Nope.  Not even as good as a Pepperidge Farm cookie, much less a homemade version.  It was a little more moist and chewy than Late July’s cookies, but still bland.  I took two nibbles and tossed it in the trash.  If I’m going to have a treat that may be full of empty calories, then it’s gotta be tasty.

I switched course and tried Jello’s Mousse Temptations in dark chocolate decadence flavor.  My first thought was “this feels like a sponge.”  It was a weird texture to me.  I recognized the smell and taste, but couldn’t quite place it until I had a second nibble.  Of course–it tastes exactly like Jello chocolate pudding.  Dark chocolate?  Decadent?  Pshaw.  Just Jello’s “milk chocolate” pudding with all the same scary ingredients.

So far, only straight up dark chocolate (no chaser!) satisfies the cravings.  I can have two or three little squares from a bar and I’m content for the day.  I like Whole Food’s 365 Everyday Value Organic Swiss Dark Chocolate Bar with Almonds, as well as Divine’s 70% Dark Chocolate bar.  It would be nice to find another kind of treat that packs a flavor wallop without loads of calories or chemical ingredients.  (Like a cookie.  Oh boy, I miss those milano cookies.)  Any suggestions?

5 responses »

  1. “Unfortunately, they’re very dry and have a chalky taste. I didn’t even finish the first cookie–just tossed it in the trash.” Consider that a blessing. Less calories in! 🙂

    I often say I’m glad that I don’t have a fetish for all things chocolate. I don’t like a lot of chocolate products. I do enjoy the odd chocolate bar laced with sugar every now and then.

Leave a Reply

