Seven Weeks Way-In

Standard

I’m seven weeks way into my new healthy lifestyle.  I’ve lost 12 pounds and I’m officially overweight!  Why am I excited about being overweight?  Because when I started this new lifestyle, my BMI put me in the obese category.  (BMI means “body mass index” and it calculates body fat using your height and weight.)  Less body fat = healthier me = happier me.

I’ve noticed that a few pieces of clothing seem to fit better.  I know it will take more time and pounds to really notice a difference or, miracle of miracles, drop a size or two.  I’m okay with that because I feel better and I’m getting healthier–and that’s what really counts.

Lesson learned, though:  listen to your body!  I told you about how my left knee was acting up over the weekend.  I gave myself 24 hours between workouts and then went for a walk/jog last night.  Not so smart because today my knee aches a bit.  Nothing major, but something I could’ve avoided if I’d just listened to my body and accepted that my body needs a break now and then, even if my mind is saying “run, run, run!”

Last week I aspired to fit more cardio or strength-training into my workouts.  Purely by chance, I happened to stay at a hotel with a fitness room and used their free weights and weight machines.  I used the weights to work my upper body, and my upper body felt good afterwards.  It really just made me want to join a gym even more.  However, the general consensus seems to be that I should wait a little while longer before I join a gym, so I need to figure out a way I can increase my cardio and strength-training at home without any special equipment.  Any suggestions?

3 responses »

  1. Congratulations on your increasing health! I have bought a set of free weights which I use at home following a 15 minute exercise routine on DVD by Joan Pagano. It works for me as I develop my strength and fitness.

  2. Congrats on your accomplishment. Always a good feeling, eh? As far as the cardio is concerned, maybe you can try some jump rope. It takes a while to get used to (I’m still trying) but boy, does it ever increase your heart rate. Jump ropes are pretty inexpensive. I bought mine at WalMart. I have a bad right knee (loose knee cap) so I have to adjust the way I skip a little bit, but I don’t usually have a problem. If my knee starts to act up, I just don’t do it.

Leave a Reply

