Fried Green Tomatoes at the Going Steady Cafe

Standard

A friend gave me green tomatoes from her garden.  I had no idea what to do with them except fry ‘em up.  They’re tomatoes, so they can’t be all bad, right?

I cut up the tomatoes and whisked a couple of brown, organic, cage-free eggs.

I dipped each tomato slice in the egg, then coated it with whole wheat bread crumbs.

I fried the slices in a pan coated with olive oil.

The slices were greasy but rather tasty.  They reminded me of fried okra.

I figured two or three slices combined with a healthy dinner would be okay.  Eh, maybe not.  Afterwards, I looked up some fried green tomato recipes.  Most of them use milk, flour, and cornmeal, but a breadcrumb recipe listed over 300 calories for each medium-sized tomato.  Ouch.  It was an interesting experiment, but one I won’t be replicating any time soon.

Any suggestions for green tomato recipes?

One response »

Leave a Reply

