Spicy Butternut Squash Soup

Standard

I love autumn.  I love the crisp air, the multicolored leaves, and the food.  Of course, a healthy lifestyle means I need to lay off the giant slices of apple pie and look to healthier options, so I experimented with butternut squash soup.

I bought a couple of large squash, washed them, cut off the ends, and cut them in half.

The oven was heated to 400 degrees.  I roasted the squash for 25 minutes.  I took out the larger pieces that seemed soft, and left the smaller, harder pieces in the oven for another 10 minutes.

I trimmed off the skin and cut up the squash into pieces less than an inch thick.  I threw the pieces into a big pot and poured about 6 cups of vegetable stock over the squash.  A lot of squash soup recipes call for onions, leeks, or celery.  I didn’t add any of those ingredients because (1) I’m lazy and (2) they were already in the vegetable stock.

I seasoned the soup with salt, pepper, nutmeg, allspice, and cinnamon.  The soup simmered on medium heat for 30 minutes.  I tasted it, and added more cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice.

I poured the soup into a blender, in batches, and pulsed the blender for less than 5 seconds.  Voila!  Spicy squash soup.

It was spicy like pumpkin pie filling, but not as sweet.  A pinch of almond slices gave it a more complex, nutty taste.  Hubby and I each enjoyed a bowl for dinner, and we had enough left over for probably 4 or 5 more bowls.

What’s your favorite squash dish?

5 responses »

  1. Can anyone say yum! Looks good and I’m sure it tastes even better. Hubby makes his squash almost like mashed potatoes. He bakes the squash until it’s soft enough to mash. Adds cinnamon, nutmeg, and butter. Yes, I know. Probably why I love it so much. Butter! 😉

  2. I love butternut squash soup! I like to save the seeds, roast those with salt and spices while the squash is cooking, and then sprinkle them on the soup like croutons. Just got me excited for the return of fall veggies!

Leave a Reply

