Overnight Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Standard

I’ve been curious about overnight oatmeal and how it tastes, especially if steel cut oats are used.  I finally gave it a try.

I poured 2 cups of McCann’s steel cut Irish oatmeal into my Crockpot.

I diced an apple and dumped it into the pot.

I covered the ingredients with 8 cups of water and sprinkled the concoction with a generous helping of cinnamon.

The Crockpot was set to low heat for 10 hours, and I went to bed.

When I woke in the morning, the whole house smelled like oatmeal.  It was a warm, cozy introduction to the day.  I peered into the Crockpot where I saw…well…watery goop.

I’m a lumpy oatmeal kinda girl, so I hoped it wouldn’t be as watery once I mixed it up and poured it into the bowl.  It was a bit thicker.  Unfortunately, it was bland.  Really bland.

I sprinkled cinnamon into the bowl, along with about a teaspoon of maple syrup.  I didn’t want to use a sugary ingredient like maple syrup, but this oatmeal needed help–stat!

I’m sorry to report that it was still very bland.  I didn’t have time to futz around with it, so I put the leftovers in the fridge until I could experiment some more.  Any suggestions on how to flavor this stuff?  Or how to cook it next time so it isn’t so bland?

5 responses »

  1. I would add less water and maybe a cup of milk. Applesauce might also do the job. Or raisins. Or add some slices of pear.Nonethelss, I cannot imagine something better than waking up to the smell of cinnamon…mmmmh 🙂

  2. Agreed w/ above poster. Nothing like the smell of cinnamon (any time of the day)! I usually mix some applesauce in my oatmeal as well to help sweeten it up. Sorry it didn’t work out as you had hoped, but you did give me an idea for tomorrow’s breakfast. I must break out the crock pot tonight.

Leave a Reply

