Layered Tomatoes & Eggplant

Standard

I tried a variation of homemadeadventure’s scalloped tomatoes using eggplant instead of polenta.

I preheated the oven to 350 degrees and coated the bottom of a casserole dish with a thin layer of olive oil.  I sliced a small-to-medium-sized eggplant and a couple of tomatoes.  A row of eggplant was laid across the dish, followed by a row of tomatoes, and so on.

I sprinkled salt and pepper over the layers.  The fridge revealed some left over Chavrie goat’s milk cheese and Montchevre goat milk cheddar cheese which I dabbed on the veggies.

I’m a sloppy cook.  I wanted to use balsamic vinegar in this dish.  Did I check to see if I had any before I sliced up the tomatoes and eggplant?  Nope.  Did I have any?  Nope.  So I improvised and used red wine vinegar instead.  I splashed olive oil and red wine vinegar over the dish.

I shredded bits of oregano and sprinkled it over the layers.

I cooked the layered tomatoes and eggplant for 25 minutes.  It wasn’t as pretty as the dish from homemadeadventure, but I enjoyed it.  The goat cheese and vinegar were a nice, tart contrast with the meaty eggplant and fresh tomatoes.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

