Quick Hot Cinnamon Dark Chocolate

Standard

There’s a chill in the air which makes me crave warm, soothing drinks like apple cider and hot chocolate.  I’m eating healthier, but I treat myself once in a while to chocolate, so I wanted to find a healthier hot chocolate.  I tried a hot chocolate experiment at home.

I broke up six pieces of Green & Black’s 70% dark chocolate into a mug.  I nuked the mug in the microwave for about a minute.

While “whisking” the chocolate with a fork, I nuked one cup of fat-free milk, in a separate mug, in the microwave for about 1.5 minutes.

I gradually poured the milk into the chocolate mug while whisking.  Halfway through, I whisked in a generous helping of cinnamon.

Although I think it might be a tad tastier with 2% or whole milk, it was still pretty darn tasty.  Dark chocolate gave it depth, and the cinnamon was just the kick to bump it up a notch.

All of this for just 210 calories–which is 30 fewer calories than Swiss Miss Cocoa Indulgent Dark Chocolate Sensation made with fat-free milk!

3 responses »

  1. I’m a bit of a hot chocolate snob. In my opinion, the best hot chocolate is from Second Cup (Canadian chain). Creamy, thick…YUM! Don’t get me started on the fresh whip cream. *sigh* Gosh, I wish I could have one now.

Leave a Reply

