Slim Gym

Standard

I’ve been thinking about joining a gym for about two months now, but I tried to wait until I was further into my new lifestyle and further into the colder weather.  Today was just one rainy, cloudy, cool day too many.  I caved and joined the gym.  I chose Average Joe’s which is the cheapest, most basic option closest to my home.

I hopped onto the treadmill first thing.  It had been a while since I really jogged on one.  For the first time, it felt really easy to run on a treadmill.  I warmed up a bit, then ran almost a full mile before going into cool-down mode.  I didn’t want to overdo it at the gym on the first day, and I still wanted to hit the weight machines.  I kept it easy on the weight machines, too, only doing about 10 reps per machine and only up to 30 pounds.  Nevertheless, my left arm felt a little sore before I left–hopefully I’ll be able to lift it tomorrow!

Do you belong to a gym?  What do you like most about it?

4 responses »

  1. i belong to Gold’s and what i love about the particular location i go to is its size. its HUGE! there’s literally something there for just about everyone. no pool sadly, but life isnt perfect lol. the staff is friendly, the trainers seem to be very passionate and helpful, and other gym goers are overall very kind and amiable. it’s just nice to be in a place with other people who are as interested in working on their physical strengthening as i am. oh and its a diverse crown in terms of age race and gender, which is awesome.

  2. I agree, I think the crowd at the gym is what really makes it. I like having a mixed group so you feel like you’re all in it together as opposed to the gyms that just have competitive bodybuilders and size 0 “ladies who lunch,” if you know what I mean.

  3. I’ve been a member of all kinds of gyms. I once belonged to Bally’s and hated it b/c I found it was more of a pickup joint than anything else. I also belonged to an all women’s club. Didn’t like that either. I found the equipment and classes severely lacking (I guess you get what you pay for…membership was $13/mo). Plus there was no daycare! Who does that at a women’s gym. Anyway…I was once a member of a 24-hr gym (with daycare). Loved it. I joined with my dearest friend of 34 years. We had an absolute blast. Then management/owners switched and it went downhill from there. I then joined the gym closer to my house and I’m still there. I’ve been there for about…hmm…maybe 7 years now. I love it. Lots of equipment, variety of classes, friendly owners, clean atmosphere.

    • I always wonder about places like Bally’s and Crunch–how do people get any exercise done with all the flirting? Plus, unless I was in perfect shape, I don’t think I’d want my crush to see me sweating like a pig!

Leave a Reply

