Gym Dandy

Standard

Yesterday was my second day at the gym, and my second time on the treadmill in more than a year.  Last year, I ran maybe a 15:00 minute mile.  Maybe.  For the past couple of months, I’ve been jogging on streets, trails, and tracks, and usually I don’t keep track of how far or how fast I run.  It was just a few weeks ago that I got excited because I ran three laps around the track–and they weren’t even consecutive.

Imagine my surprise at the gym yesterday when I ran a mile in 13:40.  I know that’s not impressive to many (most?  all?) of you, but I was pleasantly surprised.  I only did 1.5 miles on the treadmill before I called it a day.

Which brings up a few questions.  How do people run, like, 5 miles without passing out or sweating to death?  Is it more important to focus on how your body is feeling, or whether you reach a certain distance or speed?  How do you ignore the darn numbers on the treadmill?  (‘Cause when I see it approaching a certain “mile”stone, my mind wants to reach it, then give up for the day.)  How do you fight treadmill tedium?

2 responses »

  1. great job!!!! 🙂 distance running for me, or running period, means tailoring my pace so that i can last the distance. so like when i started i would do 3 miles at a like a 17 min mile, but the more i ran and the more weight i lost i got better to where i can do the same distance, but just faster. sooooo, my advice to you would be to take your time if you want to go farther and find a pace that works for you to go the distance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

