Strawberry Banana Smoothie With Almond Milk

Standard

Seems like all the cool kids are using almond milk these days, so I decided to try it out for the first time.  Pure almond milk is made from almonds and water, but the packaged store brands usually contain some other ingredients like vitamins and vanilla extract.  Not only is almond milk vegetarian-friendly, but it has no lactose and no cholesterol (a big bonus for me).

I poured 1 cup of almond milk into the blender, along with 1 banana and 1/2 cup of frozen strawberries.

I pulsed the ingredients until smooth.  Voila–smoothie!  So simple, quick, and delicious.  It made the perfect amount for one tall glass, and it was just (naturally) sweet enough for breakfast.

What’s your favorite smoothie recipe?  What’s your favorite almond milk recipe?

3 responses »

  1. I’ve been using almond milk for about a year now. I also use rice milk. I’ve been dairy free for a year as well. I have to admit it was easier than I thought. Don’t miss the yogurt, cheese, or milk.

    I used to purchase my favourite smoothie from the juice bar at the gym. It was an apple pie smoothie and contained pecans, cinnamon, nutmeg, and the usual protein powder with whatever choice of liquid. They closed down, so I can’t get it anymore. *wah*

Leave a Reply

