Guideline #9: Unplug an Hour Before Bed

Standard

Just a few months ago, I couldn’t sleep.  It took me a couple of hours to fall asleep only to toss and turn all night while having bad dreams.  Then, I woke up early–sometimes as much as 3 hours early!  I was not a happy camper.

I hoped that exercise and a healthy diet would help my sleep patterns, but I also knew I had to try Guideline #9:  Unplug an hour before bed.  About 30 to 60 minutes before I turn in for the night, I turn off the TV and the computer, and I relax in bed with a book.  Sometimes I take a cup of hot tea with me.  I keep the lights as low as possible (without straining my eyes), and occasionally I’ll listen to soothing sounds such as classical guitar music or nature sounds.  (There’s a great app called Relaxing Sounds of Nature where you can actually mix a soundboard of different relaxing sounds.)  Once in a while, I’ll light a scented candle.

Thanks to this new habit, I’ve been sleeping so much better lately.  How do you prepare for bed?  What helps you sleep?

9 responses »

  1. I’ve read something along those lines. To start to tune out and give your mind time to “power off”. No computers or TVs. The suggestion was to read in the comfort of your bedroom with no distractions.

    I truly think that’s the best thing we can do for ourselves. I mean, isn’t it lovely to snuggle under the covers and read a good book?

  2. Thanks for the app, I’ll have to check that out! I like to set the sleep timer on the tv and fall asleep to MSNBC. It’s what I watch in bed. If I drift off to tv it stops my mind from racing. Reading sometimes works too, but then I just think about what I have read. 🙂

  3. I actually just did a few posts on sleep, too!

    The best way for me to unwind is tea and reading. I need to be warm and drowsy before I can sleep!

    Your blog is so pretty!

    Hilary

  4. I never thought about doing this. I go through phases where I suffer from insomnia. Right now I’m okay, I think it’s because the dark weather has come and made me tired at night. But when I suffer from insomnia it’s Like I can’t shut my brain off. Maybe no internet/tv/phone would help.

Leave a Reply

