Eleven Weeks Way-In

Standard

I’m eleven weeks way into my new healthy lifestyle.  Last week, I challenged myself to tackle the elliptical machine and recumbent bike at the gym, and to do a couple of days of restorative yoga.  I only met half of my challenges.  I tried the elliptical for three minutes.  I just don’t get it.  I didn’t feel comfortable on it, and I’m not even sure I was doing it right.  The ellipticals are really popular at my gym–there’s usually more people on the ellipticals than the treadmills.  Why?  I enjoy the treadmill a lot more.  As for my other goals, I totally skipped the bike.  My left knee is not 100% and I’m afraid the bike would wreck it.  (That’s my excuse and I’m stickin’ to it.)  As for yoga, I only had one yoga session that I felt was restorative and focused.  Maybe I should start doing more yoga at night, as opposed to before work, so that I can totally relax in it without watching the clock.

As for my other activities for the week, I averaged about 12:20 per mile on the treadmill.  On Sunday, I decided I needed a break from the treadmill and ran around the hilly neighborhood instead.  (Everything in moderation, right?)  I followed it up with yard work.  (Now that’s definitely something I do in moderation!)

I’ve lost about 17-18 pounds overall, and I think it’s starting to show.  There are certain parts of my body that look a bit more toned, although there are other parts that still look just as soft and flabby as ever.  It’s a process, though, so it takes time.  However, I had to go shopping–had to, I swear!–because my black suit was literally falling off me!  I tried on a bunch of size 12 suits and dresses, and was amazed at how well they fit.  Shopping is definitely a more pleasant experience these days.

It seems, however, that my weekends are not as pleasant in the sense that I’m not as good with exercise and diet on the weekends as I am during the week.  On week days, I have a very structured schedule with meals and snacks at certain times of day, lots and lots of water (at least 64 ounces per day), occasionally yoga in the mornings, and the gym in the evenings on at least 4 week days.  But on the weekends?  Forget it.  My “meals” turn into sloppy foraging in the fridge at random times of day, and I don’t drink nearly as much water as I do during the week.  It leads to unhealthy choices.  For example, on Saturday I sorta forgot to eat lunch, so I was ravenous by the time Hubby and I were at a street fair on Saturday afternoon.  We decided to get lunch right away.  Rather than choose a restaurant offering fresh, healthy food, we dashed into a bar and ate nasty pub food.  I actually apologized to Hubby because the “food” was obviously thawed-out, microwaved crap.  I didn’t eat much of it, but I followed it up with a sugary drink from Starbucks.  On Sunday, I ate beyond feeling satisfied at lunch, then went to dinner with a friend and had a bit too much sangria.  My poor weekend food choices showed on the scale this morning.

So, my goal for this week is, again, to do more restorative yoga.  Also, I want to be more consistent with diet and exercise on the weekends, especially with my water intake.

What are your goals for the week?

5 responses »

  1. In the past, I chose the Elliptical over the treadmill. Part of the reason was because, I truly do not enjoy running. Also, the I found that I burned more calories on the elliptical than on the treadmill. I graduated from the elliptical to the elliptical cross-ramp, which involves more stair-climbing type leg work than a standard elliptical, which only requires that you swing your legs back and forth. I rarely use the bike because I find that I barely get a workout on it. Maybe I’m doing it wrong? Now, I try to rotate my machines. I alternate from the elliptical cross-ramp, the treadmill, and the rower.

    I think evenings and weekends are the hardest times for most people to stay on plan. That’s where I usually falter. I almost always have my meals and snacks planned for the day. When I get home, I start looking around for stuff and that’s where I usually end up failing.

    I seriously need to work on my water intake. I barely get in two glasses a day. I’m just not thirsty. It might have something to do with the fact that I drink a lot of freshly-juiced fruits and veggies.

    • How are the machines on your knees? I’ve become very paranoid about screwing up my knees. As for water, I use a 32-ounce water bottle with a built-in straw which makes it easy to drink lots of water at my desk without even thinking about it. Who knew that the college-days adage that “you can get drunk faster with a straw” would also work on water intake? 😉

      • The rower doesn’t hurt my knees at all. My knee starts to hurt when I do 30 min on the elliptical cross-ramp. If I do about 20 minutes or so, I’m OK. The treadmill doesn’t bother my knees too much. Mind you, when I’m on the treadmill, I usually do just walking at 15% incline or 30-second speed bursts with 20 seconds of rest in between. That doesn’t bother me too much either.

  2. When I came across your blog today I was amazed at how similar our situation is! I started what I like to call my “foodolution” about 9 weeks ago and I have lost 20 lbs. It is always great to connect with people who are experiencing the same things you are (I went shopping for new pants last weekend!). I’m excited to try your carrot curry soup!
    Thanks for sharing your journey here!
    :: KayleeAnn ::

Leave a Reply

